June 2018 Reading Wrap-Up

Tina Ollenburg
5 min readJul 2, 2018

I read 5 books this month, all fiction. Two contemporary adult, one YA/new adult, one mystery and one classic. I think I’m going to have to pledge to read at least one nonfiction book in July just because I feel kind of guilty. I’m going to the beach, though, so this month seems more like the perfect time for me to knock out a bunch of my unread BOTMs. Hmmm. We’ll see. Here are my reviews:

Alternative Remedies for Loss by Joanna Cantor * * *

I originally thought the girl on the cover was falling/face-planting, but I think it’s yoga. How is her skirt staying in place, though??

This is really more of a 2.5 star for me. I read this for interest because of some thematic similarities to my own writing project. 22-yr-old Olivia is struggling to find direction in her life after the death of her mother. She moves to NYC to work in film and then travels to India on a yoga retreat, pursuing a mysterious piece of her mother’s life. The start of the book was pretty good and the writing is solid. I enjoyed Olivia’s journey of figuring out the working world and life in the big city. As the novel progresses, however, it became increasingly frustrating. Olivia is spoiled and privileged and she never acknowledges or grapples with that fact. There’s no character arc or stakes for her. Her whiny and selfish attitude started to really frustrate me by the last chapters of the book. I think this novel could have benefited greatly from a scene or two where Olivia had more self-awareness or an outward struggle with her place in life. Not a bad beach-type read, but if you aren’t a fan of Eat, Pray, Love then you won’t like this book either re: yoga ashrams.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie * * * * *

Queen of Mystery

I was inspired to finally read this by the Great American Reads list. I’m trying to tackle some of those books over the summer (the good ones, not the bad ones). I can see now why Agatha Christie is the Queen of Mystery! This is a fantastic, tight suspense novel with a perfect, impossible-to-guess plot. I love the premise — 10 virtual strangers trapped on an island, getting killed off one-by-one. Christie keeps the writing concise and fast-paced, which is key for this genre. I would definitely recommend this as a great, quick read. My only critique would be that some of the characters seem way too chill about their situation. I would’ve been building some kind of boat out of furniture — anything to get off that island!

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman * * *

Look up the UK cover for this book. It’s so much better than this US version.

So many people have raved about this book, I know I must’ve gone into it with high expectations. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great. It did remind me of a Fredrik Backman novel. I’m not a huge fan of his, so it makes sense why I’m in the minority on this one as well. I found it kind of hard to get into the novel in the beginning. There was a little too much of the day-in-Eleanor’s-life detail and not enough plot. As the book continued into the second half, the story finally picks up and I started to get more invested. Honeyman does a good job of revealing the depth of Eleanor’s pain, as well as her surprising empathy for others. The other big issue I had with the book was Raymond. He is too perfect at all times. I couldn’t place him as a real person and I would’ve liked a better peek into his own interior world or more depth to his emotions. I thought the book was good, it just disappointed me when weighed against all the hype and praise it has received.

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour * * *

Love this cover art.

This was another middle-of-the-road read for me. This short novel focuses in on a week in December. Marin is in her freshman year of college and has planned to stay alone in the dorm over the holiday with only a short visit from her friend Mabel to break the isolation. Before the school year started, Marin left her hometown suddenly after the death of her grandfather. Mabel’s visit is a reckoning with all the things she left behind. We Are Okay is definitely a very quiet, thoughtful novel. Not a lot happens. It’s more emotional than plot-driven. I enjoyed some of the passages about loss and LaCour has diverse representation in the book. Overall, however, the book stayed a little too gentle. LaCour has a flashback perspective into the key events of Marin’s past and I think the book would’ve had more punch if she had just approached those events head-on in the narrative.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen * * * *

This cover art leaves something to be desired…

I am definitely a Jane Austen fan. Pride & Prejudice was one of those books that I was so sad was over when I finished the last page. Northanger Abbey seems to be Austen’s least known book. It was the first she wrote and the last to be published. I can see why it’s less famous because it’s not as dramatically romantic or suspenseful as her other novels, but it is funnier and more satirical. Catherine Morland goes to Bath with family friends, entering society for the first time. She is naive and unassuming, which leads her to be a little too trustful at times. She is also a huge reader prone to believing the fantastical events and love stories in her books are applicable to real life. Catherine seems to be one of the more realistic and relatable characters of Austen’s works. She’s young and figuring out who she is. She’s not always clever. I enjoyed the book for that aspect. It is lacking in the swooning romance, however, so if you’re looking to be swept off your feet, this isn’t the Austen for you. If you’re a completist though, this is a different, less polished look into Austen’s worldview.

All done! If you want to stay up-to-date with all my reads (and pictures of my dog), follow me on Instagram @tinaisreading.

--

--